NEWS:

Employee Spotlight: Dylan Goodwin September 21st, 2020

I was born in Salt Lake City, Utah, but spent most of my childhood growing up in Las Vegas, Nevada. At the time, my dream job was to be a video game designer. When I was 14, me and my mom (I’m an only child) packed up and headed for the west coast – Ventura. During high school, I was heavily involved with my school’s robotics team and was a guest engineering teacher at the local Boys and Girls Clubs. Since then, I was accepted to Cal Poly and got my BS and MS in Agricultural Engineering and Civil Engineering (respectively). I fell in love with the area and decided I didn’t want to leave, which is part of the reason I sought out a job at WG. Lately I’ve been biking a lot, and online gaming with my DnD group since we’re not out of the house much these days.

What are you involved in outside WG?

Charities: Blood Donor – as often as I can! Lie on a chair for a few minutes and get free cookies? What could be a better deal?

Organizations: First Robotics- I was a founding member and president of a competitive robotics team at my high school, and have gone back from time to time to volunteer at their events. Getting to mess around in the machine shop, learn the basics of Arduino, and make the occasional potato cannon is what made me want to study engineering!

Cal Poly Quarter Scale Tractor Design Team – The younger brother of the Cal Poly Tractor Pull team, I spent most of my free time freshman and sophomore year in the shops machining for the Cal Poly Quarter Scale Tractor Design team. Each year, your team must identify a target market (e.g. orchards, rice fields, etc.) and design and build from scratch a small tractor to sell to that market. Then, all teams compete in Peoria, IL to industry judges. We even got to design and machine our own transmission, along with fabricating the rest of the tractor.

Favorite pastime?

The only quarantine hobby that stuck with me so far has been cycling – roads or mountains, it’s all good to me! I’ve been able to explore so much more of the SLO area on my bikes.

Favorite movie?

I don’t watch too many movies so I can’t choose a favorite…but I’m on my 3rd or 4th re-watch of Parks and Rec at the moment!

Favorite food?

Sushi (no shrimp though, I’m allergic ☹)

Describe your dream vacation.

Recently I’ve been dreaming of a 7+ day European bike packing trip – across the Alps into Switzerland maybe?

What’s your favorite childhood memory?

Playing my Nintendo DS in the backseat of the car on a long road trip.

What’s your secret ability?

I’m a podcast junkie – I’ll listen to 5+ hours of podcasts a day if I’m not careful (not sure if that counts as an ability).

What is the furthest away from SLO have you been?

I took a tour bus around France with my AP French class in high school and I’d love to go back and spend some extended time in Nice or Mont St-Michel since we were on a pretty tight schedule the first time.