Employee Spotlight: Jesse Cabral - Wallace GroupWallace Group - Engineering and Design


Employee Spotlight: Jesse Cabral July 21st, 2017

I was born and raised in San Diego, where I lived until I moved up to Morro Bay this past Spring! Growing up, my free time revolved around being near or on the ocean. I have one sibling, an older sister! I would say that having an older sister is like always having a babysitter, one that was much stronger than you and controlled what we watched on TV. I was homeschooled for my elementary school years, and in the Spring and Fall my parents would take me and my sister to the beach in the afternoons at least once a week, not to mention most days during the summer. I went through the San Diego Junior Lifeguard’s program for several years, and I swam and played water polo until high school, when I went to a small private school that didn’t have any aquatics programs. In addition to swimming and surfing, I have always loved fishing with my dad. A huge project that we worked on together was restoring an old Boston Whaler hull that the US Navy used for dolphin training. We patched all the holes in it, welded up a pilothouse for it, and repowered it. It took us 6 years, but we did it and it’s a fantastic fishing boat now!


I wanted to work in construction from a young age, as my dad is a metal fabrication contractor that specializes in animal enclosures. I have worked since I was 16 at various jobs, including a sportboat landing in San Diego, Starbucks, swim instructor/lifeguard, and as a welder for my dad’s company. I have had the opportunity to work with my dad on projects at the San Diego Zoo and Safari Park, Sea World, and the Orange County Zoo. My dad always encouraged me to find another career, so I decided to pursue a career in Civil Engineering. After my first year of San Diego State University, I realized that I got extremely lucky because I picked a degree in a field that I loved and enjoyed studying. Most of my friends changed majors after the first year, so it was a very satisfying feeling when I graduated.

In 2015 I was given the opportunity to intern with the County of San Diego’s Construction Engineering department, where they ran capital improvement projects for the unincorporated parts of San Diego. This was my first step working in Civil Engineering and my introduction to Construction Management. I learned a great deal at that internship. On one project we installed new sidewalk on both sides of a mile long stretch of road. One of the residents came to me and told me that he now had an opportunity to walk to the store that was down the street. He could only walk on flat surfaces and would fall if he had to walk through the dirt that was there before. I was just the intern on that project, but I knew at that point that I wanted to stay in construction management from then on just so I could continue to be a part of improving people’s lives.


While I was in school, I also met and married my beautiful wife, Rylie. I always loved visiting SLO when we would come to visit her family, so it was an easy choice to move up here after we got out of school. We got married in June 2016, and we just had our daughter earlier this month! Getting married, graduating college, moving 300 miles, starting a career with Wallace Group as an Assistant Resident Engineer, and having a baby is a huge transition in a little over a year, but it has been an incredible experience I get to share with Rylie, and we are so excited for our family’s future up here in San Luis Obispo.

Questions not necessary in order of importance:

  1. Describe what you do at WG
    1. As an Assistant Resident Engineer, my duties are to provide backup to the head Resident Engineer (RE) by means of site inspection, documentation, project archiving, and processing submittals for projects that are in the construction phase. Additionally, I have been assisting the Survey Department in the field with construction staking for several projects.
  2. What are some of your favorite activities with WG?
    1. I have only been with WG for a month or so now, so unfortunately I have not had the pleasure of going on a company outing yet! However, I am looking forward to participating in the events thrown by the Fun Committee!
  3. What are you involved in outside WG?
    1. Just moved to SLO, still looking for the right places to get involved!
  4. Favorite pastime
    1. Going to the beach.
  5. Favorite movie
    1. The Dark Knight if I am feeling serious, Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls for when I’m not.
  6. Favorite food
    1. Pad Thai with Chicken
  7. Describe your dream vacation.
    1. Southeast Pacific (Tahiti, Indonesia, Thailand, Australia, ETC)
  8. What’s your favorite childhood memory?
    1. Fishing with my dad.
  9. What’s your secret ability?
    1. Competed in the World Championship of Bodysurfing twice.
  10. What is the furthest away from SLO have you been?
    1. Santa Clara, Cuba – 2,601.7 Miles